Books I Loved: August 2016

Reading is one of my most favourite things in the whole wide world. I am not even exaggerating! I don’t even understand how some people hate reading any type of books. Reading is one of the things that can help you relax after a long and stressful day at college/work. Okay, I feel like I am writing an essay on reading for my English assignment so let’s change the atmosphere.

Since I utterly love reading and I am very against people not reading any type of books obtainable on Mother Earth, I decided to start my own series. At the end of every month I will be talking about the books I read during the 30-31 day period even if some of them weren’t a cup of my tea. 

So in the past month, I have literally read so much that my parents had to actually stop me from picking another book up..no matter how stupid that sounds it was actually true *sighs* But being the rebel I am, I still went ahead and ordered tons of other books and totally devoured all of them. So below are the books I spent my valuable time (which would have been rather used to binge watch shows on Netflix) reading.

*all the summaries in italic are from Amazon.

DSC_0040

DSC_0006

DSC_0052

1. Love & Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch

Honestly, this is the book I picked up (virtually) as soon as I read the name. Well, what comes to your mind as soon as you read the word Gelato? Something you would love to eat 24/7 but get to the point, doesn’t it remind you of Italy? Obviously it does! So how would I would not read this book? The plot of the book revolves perfectly around the title and I can’t be more glad. I strongly feel you should read this one!

Here’s a summary of the book from Amazon:

A summer in Italy turns into a road trip across Tuscany in this sweeping debut novel filled with romance, mystery, and adventure.

Lina is spending the summer in Tuscany, but she isn’t in the mood for Italy’s famous sunshine and fairy-tale landscape. She’s only there because it was her mother’s dying wish that she get to know her father. But what kind of father isn’t around for sixteen years? All Lina wants to do is get back home.

But then Lina is given a journal that her mom had kept when she lived in Italy. Suddenly Lina’s uncovering a magical world of secret romances, art, and hidden bakeries. A world that inspires Lina, along with the ever-so-charming Ren, to follow in her mother’s footsteps and unearth a secret that has been kept from Lina for far too long. It’s a secret that will change everything she knew about her mother, her father—and even herself.

People come to Italy for love and gelato, someone tells her, but sometimes they discover much more.



2. Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

Believe it or not, I finished this book in roughly 3 hours! Not only was it very easy to read but also, it actually makes you read more and more unless and until you know what actually happens in the end. It’s a very 21st century book because it talks about how communications are done nowadays and, tells how people with anxiety go through their days.

Audrey wears dark glasses all the time, even in the house. She almost never goes out, doesn’t talk to new people, and finds making eye contact to be nearly impossible. 
 
But then one day she meets Linus. Linus is her brother’s friend and a sensitive spirit with whom she can talk through her fears. He makes her laugh and doesn’t leave her feeling like she’s being judged. As their friendship deepens, Audrey’s recovery gains momentum, and she and Linus begin to develop feelings for each other. But how can they have a future together when Audrey hasn’t dealt with her past? And how could anyone ever love her once they’ve seen her at her worst?
 



3. If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo

By the book (get it?) I wasn’t very fond of this one. I had mixed feelings about this book therefore it is very hard to get a conclusion for it. I don’t want to disclose why I didn’t like the book because that’s the whole point of it. But overall, it was very well written – all the emotions and certain situations were something I adored in this book.

Amanda Hardy is the new girl in school. Like anyone else, all she wants is to make friends and fit in. But Amanda is keeping a secret, and she’s determined not to get too close to anyone.

But when she meets sweet, easygoing Grant, Amanda can’t help but start to let him into her life. As they spend more time together, she realizes just how much she is losing by guarding her heart. She finds herself yearning to share with Grant everything about herself, including her past. But Amanda’s terrified that once she tells him the truth, he won’t be able to see past it. 

Because the secret that Amanda’s been keeping? It’s that at her old school, she used to be Andrew. Will the truth cost Amanda her new life, and her new love?



4. When We Collided by Emery Lord

This is the first book where I didn’t like the main character of the book.I don’t know why but I wasn’t a big fan of her. But after ignoring that, the overall book was really really good. It actually spoke about the issues many people go through today and it also had several deep meaning texts.

Seventeen year-old Jonah Daniels has lived in Verona Cove, California, his whole life, and only one thing has ever changed: his father used to be alive, and now he is not. With a mother lost in a deep bout of depression, Jonah and his five siblings struggle to keep up their home and the restaurant their dad left behind. But at the start of summer, a second change rolls in: Vivi Alexander, the new girl in town. 

Vivi is in love with life. Charming and unfiltered, she refuses to be held down by the medicine she’s told should make her feel better. After meeting Jonah, she slides into the Daniels’ household seamlessly, winning over each sibling with her imagination and gameness. But it’s not long before Vivi’s zest for life begins to falter. Soon her adventurousness becomes all-out danger-seeking. 



5. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

The best for the last. I absolutely loved this both to core and I am so glad it has a sequel. If you loved Hunger Games you would absolutely fancy this one. I am currently reading the second part of this and I can’t wait to talk about it next month. Mare Barrow is now my inspiration..no matter how cheesy this sounds, it’s very true.

Mare Barrow’s world is divided by blood—those with common, Red blood serve the Silver-blooded elite, who are gifted with superhuman abilities. Mare is a Red, scraping by as a thief in a poor, rural village, until a twist of fate throws her in front of the Silver court. There, before the king, princes, and all the nobles, she discovers she has an ability of her own.

To cover up this impossibility, the king forces her to play the role of a lost Silver princess, and betroths her to one of his own sons. As Mare is drawn further into the Silver world, she risks everything and uses her new position to help the Scarlet Guard—a growing Red rebellion—even as her heart tugs her in an impossible direction. One wrong move can lead to her death, but in the dangerous game she plays the only certainty is betrayal.

This sweeping story of palace intrigue, class hierarchy, and deception will keep readers hurtling along, desperate to find out Mare’s fate. Her honesty and determination, quick wit, and no-holds-barred attitude will surely make readers fall in love with her.



Which book are you planning to read from these 5?

Signing off,

cropped-cropped-1461743023267.jpg

Instagram||Bloglovin||Twitter||Facebook

 

7 thoughts on “Books I Loved: August 2016”

  1. I already read both Finding Audrey & When We Collided as well & loved them! 🙂 Just like you I didn’t like the female protaagonist in When We Collided at first either because I thought she was so annyoing but once I realised what kind of mental illness she’s dealing with her behaviour made a lot more sense x

    Sara’sChapters

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh absolutely, I didn’t want to mention it in the post to keep it like a mystery for others but I totally agree with you!
      Also, make sure you read the other books- they all are pretty good!
      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

